Transport communications

Portcare International is the press relations consultancy for the shipping and logistics industry. Formed by transport people for transport people. We can truly claim to understand our clients’ needs and ‘talk the same language’. Portcare provide effective, value for money PR to some of the industry’s best-known names.

Seahorse Journalist Awards – The Results

London, 14th December, 2017Seahorse Awards 2017

Tuesday evening saw over two hundred media professionals gather in London for the Annual Seahorse Club Journalist of the Year Awards, which this year included ten categories, including Environment, Innovation, Feature Journalism and New Reporting, and two honorary awards.

Linton Nightingale of Lloyd’s List Containers took home the top prize of overall Seahorse Journalist of the Year for his, according to the judges, “Forward-looking insightful coverage of key challenges, including Spanish ports labour disputes, President Trump’s protectionist policies and growing reefer trades.” Paul Berrill of Tradewinds+ took runner-up spot.

Long-serving Seahorse Club stalwart and veteran of the maritime PR business Judy Cheslin was presented with the Club’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Brian Sullivan, recently retired from TT Club but still very much involved in the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, received the Personality of the Year Award.

A record number of entries (269 articles in all) were received from 71 journalists from around the world.  Sam Chambers of the Asia-based Splash 24/7 won International Editor of the Year and Baltic Transport Journal from Poland’s Przemek Myszka was awarded Supply Chain Journalist.  This category was particularly closely contested with American Randy Woods of Air Cargo World coming in second.

As ever the Club owed much to the night’s sponsors, which were; AAL Shipping, Associated British Ports (ABP), American Bureau of Shipping (ABS), Air Canada Cargo, DNV GL, GEODIS, International Transport Journal, PSA International, SAL Heavy Lift, TT Club and Wallenius Wilhelmsen Line (WWL).  The Club’s nominated charity, Transaid also benefited to the tune over £1500.

There was a double triumph for Mike King, winner in the News category and runner-up for the Feature award.  The later was won by Tanya Blake of Safety at Sea, while the Air Cargo trophy went to Roger Hailey of Air Cargo News with Chris Lewis for his contribution also to Air Cargo News as runner-up.

Other journalists who were celebrating a win included; Helen Kelly, Lloyd’s List for Social Media; Sophie Barnes, Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding International named  Newcomer of the Year; Felicity Landon, Port Strategy in the Innovation category and Andrew Linington, Nautilus and Nick Savvides, Fairplay, respectively winner and runner-up of the Environment Award.

The Seahorse Club is a networking group for journalists and professionals in the freight transport, shipping and logistics sectors founded in 1963.

To find out more visit

Winners of the 2015 Seahorse Journalist of the Year Awards

Award Winner Publication
Seahorse Winner Max Tingyao Lin Lloyd’s List
Seahorse Runner-up Roger Hailey Air Cargo News
International Editor Richard Meade Lloyd’s List
Newcomer Joe Lo Container Management
Feature Winner Louise Cole Roadway
Feature Runner-up Eric Johnson Breakbulk
News Winner Jaya Prakash BC Shipping News
News Runner-up Jim Wilson Lloyd’s List Australia
Supply Chain Winner Tim Maughan BBC
Supply Chain Runner-up Alex Lennane The Loadstar
Environmental Winner Danny Shorten & Namrata Nadkarni The Marine Professional
Environmental Runner-up Tim Maughan BBC
Air Cargo Winner Randy Woods Air Cargo World
Social Media Winner Holly Birkett Asia Shipping Media